Complex Anal Fistula

Date: Monday 19 November 2018
: 09.30 - 18:00
: Tor Vergata University Hospital, Viale Oxford 81, 00133, Rome, Italy

In conjunction with 7th SICCR Educational Colorectal Meeting

ESCP Member Rates
ESCP Full Member €100
ESCP Member Trainee €50

Non Member Rates
Non-Member €200
Non-Member Trainee €80

Register for ESCP's 6th Regional Masterclass here


09:30 - 09:50 Welcome Coffee
09:50 - 10:00

ESCP Welcome and Introduction to the Masterclass

Filippo La Torre, Giovanni Milito, David Zimmerman

10:00 - 10:30

Lecture: History of fistula surgery

Speaker: TBC

10.30 - 11:15

Importance and modalities of imaging of complex fistulas

Chair: Kevin Gottgens

  • Proposing US - Marco La Torre
  • Proposing MRI - David Zimmerman
  • Debate and discussion

Evidence in fistula surgery

Chair: Phil Tozer

  • Evidence of classic techniques (Fistulotomy, Lift, Advancement Flat) - Christoph Isbert
  • Evidence of new techniques (VAAFT, Permacol, etc.) - Kevin Gottgens
  • Mastering the use of draining setons; how, what and in whom? - Kevin Gottgens
12:15 - 13:15 Lunch
13:15 – 14:15

Panel of Experts: Recurrent fistula, indication to treatment: how, what and when

Chair: Dieter Hahnloser

Participants: Christoph Isbert, David Zimmerman, Kevin Gottgens, Phil Tozer, Reinhard Ruppert, Sezai Leventoglu


Consultants Corner: Technical tips in the treatment of complex fistula

Chair: TBC

Participants: Christoph Isbert, Dieter Hahnloser, David Zimmerman, Reinhard Ruppert

15:30 - 15:50 Coffee break
15:50 – 18:00

Hot Topics

Chair: David Zimmerman

  • Strategies for F.I. following fistula treatment - Reinhard Ruppert
  • Saving sphincter treatment: New options in the hands of C.R. surgeon - Sezai Leventoglu
  • Stem cells: Present and future - Phil Tozer
  • Fistulas in Crohn’s disease - Francesco Selvaggi
  • Management of other fistulas: Rectovaginal - Giovanni Milito
  • Future of fistula surgery - TBC
  • Discussion

Course Dinner

Organising Committee: Filippo La Torre

Local Committee: Filippo La Torre, David Zimmerman, Giovanni Milito

ESCP Faculty: Christoph Isbert, David Zimmerman, Dieter Hahnloser, Kevin Gottgens, Phil Tozer, Reinhard Ruppert, Ruud Schouten, Sezai Leventoglu


ESCP Affiliates