07:30 - 08:30

Free Papers (Neoplasia and Proctology)

Chair: Tomasz Banasiewicz (Poland), Mark Katory (UK)

  • F40: The Development and Validation of a Patient Reported Outcome of Health-Related Quality of Life in Locally Recurrent Rectal Cancer - Deena Harji (UK)
  • F41: Metachronous Cancers following Segmental or Extended Colectomy in Lynch Syndrome: A Systematic Review and Meta- Analysis - Salim Malik (UK)
  • F42: A randomized clinical trial comparing collagen plug and advancement flap in trans-sphincteric fistulas - Johan Bondi (Norway)
  • F43: Topical anesthesia versus placebo to decrease pain in rubber band ligation for treatment of internal hemorrhoids. A single center, randomized, placebo controlled trial - José Gellona (Chile)
  • F44: Mucosal Advancement Flap for recurrent complex anal fistula: a redo-able procedure - Michele Podetta (Switzerland)
  • F45: Efficacy of autologous fat injection in the treatment of anovaginal fistulas - Stig Norderval (Norway)
07:30 - 08:30

Free Papers (Randomised Clinical Trials)

Chairs: Anna Martling (Sweden), Dion Morton (UK)

  • F46: A comparison of magnetic anal sphincter and SNS for faecal incontinence. Preliminary results of the MOS STIC RCT - Paul Lehur (France)
  • F47: Does a combination of laparoscopic approach and full fast track multimodal management decreases postoperative morbidity after colorectal cancer surgery? A multicenter randomized controlled trial - Léon Maggiori (France)
  • F48: Long-term function outcome after laparoscopic ventral mesh rectopexy versus posterior sutured rectopexy for rectal prolapse: 6-year follow-up of a double-blind, randomised single-centre study - Lilli Lundby (Denmark)
  • F49: Randomized clinical trial, final results: Ligation intersphincteric fistula tract (LIFT) versus rectal advancement flap (RAF) in the treatment of complex anal fistula (CAF) - Jorge Benavides Buleje (Spain)
  • F50: Single Use Negative pRessure dressing for Reduction In Surgical site infections following Emergency laparotomy - the SUNRRISE Trial - Richard Wilkin (UK)
  • F51: Laparoscopic ventral mesh rectopexy in adults with chronic constipation: stepped-wedge randomised controlled trial - Ugo Grossi (UK)
07:30 - 08:30

Free Papers (Student)

Chair: Victor Tomulescu (Romania), Evaghelos Xynos (Greece)

  • F52: Efficacy of Sacral Nerve Stimulation in patients with chronic constipation or ODS from a single tertiary unit - Rupan Paramasivam (Denmark)
  • F53: EuroSurg-1: Association of obesity with postoperative complications - EuroSurg Collaborative (UK)
  • F54: The benefit of the modified DULK score for early detection of anastomotic leakage after colorectal surgery - Bas Uijterwijk (The Netherlands)
  • F55: Clinical lymph node staging by imaging in colorectal cancer; a flip of the coin? - Nelleke Brouwer (The Netherlands)
  • F56: 25 years of improving survival in colorectal cancer due to evolving treatment and care: results from the Netherlands Cancer Registry - Nelleke Brouwer (The Netherlands)
  • F57: Intraoperative use of ICG fluorescence imaging to prevent anastomotic leakage in colorectal surgery: a systematic review and meta-analysis - Ruth Blanco-Colino (Spain)
08:30 - 09:30

Symposium: Unusual Anorectal Pathologies

Chairs: Guy R Orangio (USA), Bruno Roche (Switzerland)

  • Surgical investigation and management of pre-sacral pathology - Jérémie Lefevre (France)
  • Management of intra-mural rectal lesions (NET and GIST) - Peter Sagar (UK)
  • Perianal skin conditions - Eva Csatar (Hungary)
08:30 - 09:30

Educational: New Technologies

Chairs: Edgar Furnee (The Netherlands), Paul Antoine Lehur (France)

  • From lab to clinical practise - Dion Morton (UK)
  • Results of survey - Baljit Singh (UK)
09:30 - 10:00

Colorectal DiseaseKeynote Lecture: LARS - from Bedside to Bench and Back

Chair: Emmanuel Tiret (France)

Speaker: Søren Laurberg (Denmark)

10:00 - 10:15

ESCP Honorary Member Awards

Chair: Emmanuel Tiret (France)

This year, ESCP is delighted to award hnonary memberships to:

  • Najib Haboubi (UK) - with an introduction by Mike Parker (UK)
  • Søren Laurberg (Denmark) - with an introduction by Torbjorn Holm (Sweden) 
10:15 - 10:25

ESCP Awards

Best Paper, Best Welcome Poster, Best Surgical Video and and Best New Trial Presentation Awards

10:25 - 11:20 Long Coffee Break/Exhibition/Posters
10:20 - 11:20

Educational: Coloproctology Around the Globe

Chairs: Eloy Espin Basany (Spain), Klaus Matzel (Germany)

  • Challenges of setting up a training programme in coloproctology - Tetsuo Yamana (Japan)
  • Coloproctology in Nepal - Ian Bissett (New Zealand)
10:25 - 10:50 Small Hall Session
11:20 - 12:40

PPI Debate: Public and Patients are essential to developing, delivering and disseminating colorectal research

Chairs: Dion Morton (UK), Azmina Verjee (UK)


Jola Gore-Booth (UK), Per J Nilsson (Sweden), Nicola Fearnhead (UK), Matteo Frasson (Italy), Gregor Norcic (Slovenia). 

11:20 - 12:40

Symposium: What to do with a T2 Rectal Cancer?

Chair: Simon Bach (UK), Eric Rullier (France)

  • Surgery alone: still the standard? - Ivan Dimitrijević (Serbia)
  • CRT followed by local excision? - Julio Garcia Aguilar (USA)
  • CRT - wait and watch? - Geerard Beets (Netherlands)
  • Panel debate
12:40 -13:10

Keynote Lecture: Faecal Transplantation in Ulcerative Colitis and Clostridium Difficile Colitis

Chair: Tom Øresland

Speaker: Harry Sokol (France)

13:10 - 14:10 Lunch/Exhibition/Posters
13:15 - 13:40 Small Hall Session
13:45 - 14:10 Small Hall Session
13:10 - 14:10

Educational: Controversies in Ileocecal Crohn's

Chairs: Adam Dziki (Poland), Yves Panis (France)

  • Multidisciplinary management of ileocecal Crohn's disease - Willem Bemelman (The Netherlands), Krisztina Gecse (The Netherlands)
14:10 - 15:10

Symposium: Benign Chronical Abdominal Diseases for the Colorectal Surgeon

Chairs: Adam Dziki (Poland), Charles Knowles (UK)

  • IBS - Ivan Jovanovic (Serbia)
  • Surgery for slow transit constipation - Sergey Achkasov (Russia)
  • Endometrioses - Carla Tomassetti (Belgium), Albert Wolthuis (Belgium)
15:10 - 16:25

Consultants’ Corner

Facilitators: Jared Torkington (UK), Des Winter (Ireland)

Panel: Per Nilsson (Sweden), Guy R Orangio (USA), Yves Panis (France), Thomas Schiedeck (Germany), Petr Tsarkov (Russia)

16:25 - 16:30

Closing ceremony

ESCP President Ethem Gecim will be joined by ESCP Secretary Gabriela Möslein and Programme Chairperson Anna Martling to close the meeting.

ESCP Affiliates