As its membership hits 1,650, ESCP has announced key board appointments for the next year. The elected Council and Board of Trustees is committed to promoting and advancing the knowledge, science and practice of coloproctology throughout Europe.

Per Nilsson
New ESCP President, Per J Nilsson

Per J Nilsson, from Sweden, has been elected as the new ESCP President. Per has been involved with the society for eight years and became chair of the ESCP Communication’s Committee in 2013.

Evangelos Xynos, from Greece, has been designated as the new President in Waiting.

Dieter Hahnloser, from Switzerland, has also been announced as the new chair of the Education Committee. We also welcome Miguel Pera (Spain) as Assistant Treasurer, Baljit Singh (UK) as Colorectal Disease Journal Representative, and David Zimmerman (The Netherlands) as EBSQ Representative.

ESCP recently hosted its 13th Annual Conference in Nice, France, at the Acropolis Convention Centre from the 26-28 September.

Those who attended enjoyed numerous keynote lectures, symposia, educational and research sessions, as well as networking with colorectal professionals across Europe.

New ESCP President, Per J Nilsson, said:

“ESCP is recognised as the leading organisation in Europe for the research, education and treatment into colorectal disease. It’s great to see that membership is rapidly growing as we continue to expand horizons and collaborate across countries – our recently launched European School of Coloproctology is just one example.

"We’re delighted to announce these new appointments for the coming year. With a continued focus on patient outcome, our society will remain dedicated in providing the colorectal community with the very latest in industry advances, educational tools, research projects and insights."

ESCP Affiliates