Mudassar Majeed ©Viennamotion Lars Påhlman EBSQ medal awarded to Dr Mudassar Majeed from Cork University Hospital, Ireland

Mudassar Majeed a surgeon from Cork University Hospital was awarded the 2019 Lars Påhlman medal after obtaining a higher score than all other candidates who sat the European Board of Surgery Qualification (EBSQ) in Coloproctology during 2018.

Majeed, is a General Surgeon with a special interest in colorectal and minimally invasive surgery. The medal is awarded in tribute to the late Professor Lars Påhlman’s achievements and contributions to coloproctology and specifically to training and education.

Majeed was presented with the award during a ceremony at the 2019 conference of the European Society of Coloproctologists (ESCP) in Vienna, which was attended by over a thousand colorectal surgeons from all over the world.

To be eligible to sit the EBSQ exam, candidates must demonstrate that they are future opinion leaders in the management of colorectal diseases in their country and have completed a minimum of seven years of specialist surgical training. As part of the exam, candidates must complete a written paper, discuss specific patient problems, assess ten to 12 patient scenarios, examine specimens and critically appraise a paper written by one of their peers.

Majeed said:

“I am very thankful to ESCP for giving me this prestigious award which has been named after a great coloproctologist, Lars Pahlman.

“Surgery is becoming more and more speciality specific and ESCP is doing great job by providing a platform for colorectal surgeons, from all over the world, by giving them research and training opportunities. I will encourage all colorectal trainees to get EBSQ certification as it is a very in-depth examination of colorectal knowledge and skills.

“Thanks again to ESCP for this medal and best of luck to all the future candidates.”

ESCP’s Klaus Matzel presented the award at the ESCP 2019 meeting. He said:

“Majeed is the fourth person to receive this award - it is a significant achievement.”

Lars Påhlman was one of the key figures in the early years of the ESCP and was devoted to establishing and strengthening coloproctology as a surgical subspecialty in Europe. To achieve that goal he chaired the EBSQ Coloproctology within the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) for many years.

Following his premature death in 2015, the European Society for Coloproctology established the Lars Påhlman medal to be awarded annually to the candidate with the highest score in the EBSQ examination. The EBSQ qualification is the only way to prove specialist skills and competences in coloproctology.

Make sure you follow the latest updates from #ESCP2019 by following @escp_tweets on Twitter and downloading the official ESCP App from your Apple or Android app store.

ESCP Affiliates